Multiple users editing the same document

Multiple users editing the same document

Multiple users can edit a document in a near-simultaneous fashion without their edits conflicting with one another. Users are automatically switched between “Editing,” “Reviewing,” and “Waiting” states. When the editing role is passed to a different user, the new editor is shown in the Collaborate window. 

When multiple users are working on a document at the same time, the Collaborate window shows which one (and only one) is actively editing, and which ones are reviewing the document or waiting for their chance to edit it. The active editor is always at the top of the list, and the “waiting” users are shown below in the order in which they’ll receive editing privileges. The editing role automatically switches to the next-in-line user when the current editor is inactive for 45 seconds. When this occurs, the new editor receives a brief notification message, and all users see a change in the Editing indicator.

If no one is in a waiting state and all current users are in Viewing mode, the first one who enters text or moves a diagram symbol will receive editing privileges. Editors can click on their status to Pass Control and return to reviewer mode, and reviewers can click on their status to Release Edit Request to return to reviewer mode and leave their place in line.