Editing or reviewing

Editing or reviewing

Each document can have three different kinds of users: the Owner who created it, Collaborators who have the ability to edit it, and Reviewers who can access and read it, but not edit it. When you initially open a document, the system puts you in Editing mode if you’re a Collaborator or into Reviewing mode if you have Reviewer permissions. The Editing display  on the Bottom toolbar always shows the name of the current editor.

If you are a Collaborator, and another user is already editing a document when you open it, the system will ask if you want to “get in line to edit the document?” If you say “Yes,” the Collaborate window opens and you will be in line behind the current editor and anyone else who has requested an editing role. If you say “No,” the document will open with you in the Reviewer role.

To give up your place in line, or to immediately release your editing privilege to the next user in line, hover over your status in the Collaborate window, then click Release Edit Request (or Pass Control if you are the active editor).